Those Who Speak For Themselves

21. 11. 20:00 – 21:30

Those Who Speak For Themselves

Jana Svobodová & coll.

Czech spoken. Large auditorium, open seating. Duration 90 minutes.

Theatre performance Those Who Speak For Themselves transforms Archa Theatre into a huge gallery where authentic life stories of twelve women become the exhibits. The audience is left with the decision whether they will experience all the stories or only certain parts of them and the order in which they will assemble them.  An important part of the unique theatrical installation by theatre director Jana Svobodová is the original music of Michal Nejtek.  

Those Who Speak For Themselves is a show in which the performers are not actors. They don't play roles. They only represent themselves. Stories intertwine, people meet unexpectedly. Like when you walk down the street, you think of something, someone passes by and you catch his sentence. And it folds into a new story. Then it becomes the only story, yours.

This performance is performed in Czech only!



When the theatre hall is transformed into a gallery where the viewers choose what they want to see – Prague Daily Monitor, August 10, 2021



Concept, Screenplay & Director: Jana Svobodová
Dramaturgy: Ondřej Hrab
Music: Michal Nejtek
Sound design: Ladislav Štěrba, Jan Sedláček
Light design: Pavel Kotlík
Asistant director, production: Romana Sekáčová
Costume adjustment: Jiřina Veselá

Personal stories provided, production co-created and performed by:
Ivana Blašková
Zuzana Drápalová
Zuzana Lapšanská
Lara Hereu-Macho
Hana Kokšalová
Nikola Križková
Pavlína Müllerová
Jane Scalabroni
Hana Slaninová
Eliška Šíchová
Lucie Vrbíková
Martina Marie Živá

The theatre production was created at Archa Theater during the Covid-19 pandemic. Those Who Speak For Themselves is part of a documentary theater project supported by the EEA Grants.

Premieres: 29 and June 2021, Archa Theatre, Prague


EEA Grants

Working together for a green, competitive and inclusive Europe.

Supported by the peoples of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway through the EEA Grants.